When people ask me what I do,

my response is often predicated by the context.... who is asking and the environment in which the question is posed.

I am a welder, designer, structural fabricator, jeweler, and occasionally I have the courage to reply that I am an artist, 

but my default is simply to say,

I make things.

 

 

 

 

Select images of other projects and past work can be viewed on Instagram @lake_object

 

SELECT EXHIBITIONS:

2018. Compendium. Solo Show. Harwood Museum of Art. Taos, NM

2018. Sieraad Contemporary Jewelry Exhibition. Amsterdam, NL

2018. NYC Jewelery Week. Earrings Galore. Heidi Lowe Gallery

2016. NYCKS. Exhibitor. New York, NY

2015. TWENTYTHOUSANDTHS. Solo Show. Taos, NM

2014. The Paseo, Dinner in the Dark. Taos, NM

2012. Taos Center for the Arts.  Young Artists of Taos. 

2011. Art Knife Invitational.  Collaborator. San Diego, CA

2011. Harwood Museum Store Featured Artist. Taos, NM

2008. Museum of Contemporary Craft. Touching Warms the Art. Portland, OR

 EDUCATION

Oregon College of Art and Craft

University of Oregon. School of Architecture and Allied Arts

PRESS:

Beautiful Objects of Curiousity. Taos News. https://www.taosnews.com/stories/beautiful-objects-of-curiosity,51634

Exploring the Bounds of Wearability. Taos News.  https://www.taosnews.com/stories/julie-lake-exploring-the-bounds-of-wearablity,37431

Curatorial Conundrums. Art Jewelry Forum. http://www.artjewelryforum.org/articles/curatorial-conundrums-exhibiting-contemporary-art-jewelry-museum

Jenn Ski Studio. http://jennskistudio.blogspot.com/2010/07/julie-lake-contemporary-jewelry.html

Savannah Magazine. http://julielake.blogspot.com/2008/06/thanks-savannah-magazine.html

SavannahNow. http://savannahnow.com/do/2008-05-13/neighborhood-artists-open-doors-their-studios-and-homes

18kt. http://www.18kt.es/2008/02/julie-lake/

Let Them Eat Anemones. http://letthemeatanemones.blogspot.com/2008/07/etsy-love-lake.html

Sofia Masri.  http://sofiamasri.typepad.com/sofia_masri/2008/11/i-want-to-lock-it-all-up-in-my-pocket.html

Jewelry. Metals. Objects. http://webforjewelers.blogspot.com/2007/06/julie-lake.html

SavannahNow.  http://savannahnow.com/rexanna-savannah/2007-11-17/call-em-mutation-misfit-crafts

Tinkering Times.  http://tinkeringtimes.typepad.com/tinkeringtimes/2011/02/atomic-jewellery.html

 

APPRENTICESHIPS/ PROJECTS/WORK/RELATED ENDEAVORS

Lama Foundation. 2017.  Dargah Project, decorative and structural contributions. Taos, NM

Michael Walker Studio.  Ongoing.  Structural welding and design.  Taos, NM

Hiro Hobo. 2011-2012 Collaborated on interior restaurant design and fabriction.  Designed cocktail & sake menu.  Arroyo Seco, NM

Goldworks Gallery. 2002-2004. Jewelry fabrication and repair. San Diego, CA

Beaudet Jewelry.  2001. Jewelry fabrication and repair. Eugene, OR

Lake Knives.  Machine shop and knife making. Eugene, OR

 

 

SITE CREDITS:

Photography:  Julie Lake,

Andrea Walker www.andreajwalker.com,

Heather Sparrow www.sparrowphoto.com,

Jim Cooper www.sharpbycoop.com

Francesco Pachi www.pachi-photo.com